December 23, 2007

 

ARISS CONTACT PLANNED WITH SCHOOL IN KOROLEV CITY THURSDAY 27 DECEMBER 2007.

 

An ARISS School Contact is planned with a school in Korolev city, near Moscow. Russian cosmonaut

Yuri Malenchenko, RK3DUP will answer questions from students over amateur radio. The conversation will be in Russian.

 

The city Korolev (up to July, 1996 - Kaliningrad, Moscow region) is named after Sergey P. Korolev who developed the R7 rocket, the so-called Semiorka, which was tested in August 1957 and used for the launch of the first ever artificial Earth satellite Sputnik, 4 October 1957.

 

In 1961, a modified version of the R7 successfully launched Vostok, the first manned space vehicle. On board was cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin who became the first man in Space.

 

The ARISS School Contact is scheduled Thursday 27 December 2007 at 10:04 UTC, which is 11:04 CET and 13:04 Moscow time.

 

This will be a telebridge and ARISS ground station ON4ISS will operate the contact. Interested parties are invited to listen to the downlink signals on 145.800MHz FM. The signals will be readable all over Europe.

 

The audio for this event will also be fed into the EchoLink *AMSAT* (101 377) and *JK1ZRW* (277 208) Conference Room servers as well as into the IRLP Discovery Reflector 9010. 

 

As soon as audio is suitable for transmission over amateur radio, we start feeding audio of set up activities from about 25 minutes prior to the start of the actual contact into EchoLink for listeners who enjoy listening in on these proceedings.

 

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR !

 

73

Gaston Bertels ON4WF

ARISS-Europe chairman